About Us

Municipality of Laurel was formerly known as Barrio Bayuyungan (from the word “Bayong” which means a native rice bag woven from buli palm) in the town of Talisay.

Barrio Bayuyungan became the Laurel town by virtue of R.A. 5689 and named in honor of the late Jose B. Laurel Sr. with seven (7) barrios comprising the whole municipality. Thereafter, the first set of local officials was elected on November 8, 1971 and celebrated its first Foundation Day on March 9, 1972.

Laurel is a third class municipality envisioned for AGRO-ECO-TOURISM.